Department of Computer Science


Our people


Ours is a large and diverse department. Most staff members have their offices in Science Centre Building 303, but there is also a branch of the department in Building 810, Short Street.

Please phone +64 9 373 7999 and enter the extension number (from the list below) for the person you wish to speak with.

If you would like to update this page, contact webmaster@cs.auckland.ac.nz.

Head of department

Name Position Phone Office Email
Professor Robert Amor Professor - Head of Department 83068 303-401 trebor@cs.auckland.ac.nz
Top

Academic staff

Name Position Phone Office Email

Dr Rizwan Asghar

Senior Lecturer

84762

303S-585

r.asghar@auckland.ac.nz

Damir Azhar

Professional Teaching Fellow

82391

303-411

damir.azhar@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Mike Barley

Senior Lecturer

86133

303S-488

barley@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Nevil Brownlee

Associate Professor

88941

303S-590

n.brownlee@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Cristian Calude

Professor

87506

303-427

cristian@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Ann Cameron

Professional Teaching Fellow

84947

303-413

ann@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Angela Chang

Professional Teaching Fellow

86620

303-414

angela@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Patrice Delmas

Associate Professor

83780

303-418

p.delmas@auckland.ac.nz

Paul Denny

Senior Tutor

87087

303-524

paul@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Michael J. Dinneen

Senior Lecturer

87868

303-425

mjd@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Professor Gill Dobbie

Professor

83949

303-519

gill@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Professor Bob Doran Emeritus Professor 88754 303S-579 r.doran@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Alexei Drummond

Professor

88298

303S-479

alexei@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Matthew Egbert

Lecturer

87027

303S-491

m.egbert@auckland.ac.nz

Adriana Ferraro

Senior Tutor

87113

303-415

adriana@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Professor Mark Gahegan

Professor

81891

409-G21

m.gahegan@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Georgy Gimel'farb

Professor

86609

303-417

g.gimelfarb@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Bakh Khoussainov

Professor

85120

303-419

bmk@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Yun Sing Koh

Senior Lecturer

88299

303S-485

ykoh@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Sebastian Link

Associate Professor

88758

303-416

s.link@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Simone Linz

Lecturer

81983

303S-481

s.linz@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Jiamou Liu

Lecturer

89528

303S-487

jiamou.liu@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Christof Lutteroth

Senior Lecturer

84478

303-526

lutteroth@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Andrew Luxton-Reilly

Senior Lecturer

85654

303-523

andrew@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Aniket Mahanti

Lecturer

88752

303S-591

a.mahanti@auckland.ac.nz

Dr S Manoharan

Senior Lecturer

86837

303S-593

mano@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Radu Nicolescu

Senior Lecturer

86831

303S-587

r.nicolescu@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Andre Nies

Professor

86645

303S-421

andre@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Beryl Plimmer

Associate Professor
Deputy HOD Academic

82285

303-525

beryl@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Paul Ralph

Senior Lecturer

88867

303-531

p.ralph@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Patricia Riddle

Senior Lecturer

87093

303S-490

pat@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Giovanni Russello

Associate Professor

86137

303S-583

g.russello@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Bruce Sham Lecturer 87387 303S-588 b.sham@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Robert Sheehan

Senior Tutor

88814

303-409

r.sheehan@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Ulrich Speidel

Senior Lecturer

85282

303S-594

ulrich@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Jing Sun

Associate Professor
Deputy HOD Research

82286

303-522

j.sun@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ewan Tempero

Associate Professor

83765

303-533

e.tempero@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Professor Clark Thomborson

Professor

85753

303S-581

cthombor@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Yu-Cheng Tu

Professional Teaching Fellow

84973

303-516

yu-cheng.tu@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Ian Warren

Senior Lecturer

88784

303-517

warreni@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Professor Jim Warren

Professor

86422

303S-483

jim@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Associate Professor Ian Watson

Associate Professor

88976

303S-493

ian@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Gerald Weber

Senior Lecturer

88114

303-527

g.weber@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr David Welch

Senior Lecturer

88930

303S-465

david.welch@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Mark Wilson

Senior Lecturer

86643

303-423

mcw@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Burkhard Wuensche

Senior Lecturer

83705

303-529

burkhard@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Dr Xinfeng Ye

Senior Lecturer

85752

303S-589

xinfeng@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Chia-Yen Chen  Lecturer 89604 303-528 yen@cs.auckland.ac.nz
chia-yen.chen@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Professional staff

Name Position Phone Office Email

Arron Judson

Sector Innovation Manager

88297

303S-494 

a.judson@auckland.ac.nz

Angie Chin-Keppel

Financial Administrator

88823

303-305

a.chin@auckland.ac.nz

Min-Ah Lee

Academic Services Coordinator

88777

303-405

mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Karren Maltseva

Group Services Manager

87639

303-403

k.maltseva@auckland.ac.nz

Vivian Nayon

Accountant

87483

303-303

v.nayon@auckland.ac.nz

Carmella Lee Establishment Manager Centre of Computational Evolution 87578 303S-471  c.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Charlotte Li-Preuss

Academic Service Coordinator

84872

303S-405

c.li-preuss@auckland.ac.nz

Nicolas Sangiovanni

Facilities Coordinator

88340

301-441

n.sangiovanni@auckland.ac.nz

Pauline Sheddan

Auckland ICT School Administrator

89277

303S-516

p.sheddan@auckland.ac.nz

Suzanne Skelly

Academic Services Team Leader

89189

303S-405

s.skelly@auckland.ac.nz

Stephanie Stone

Academic Services Coordinator

81301

303-405

s.stone@auckland.ac.nz

Robyn Young

Group Services Administrator

82930

303S-405

robyn@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Sarah Sneyd Group Services Coordinator 86479 303S-383 s.sneyd@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Research programmers

Name Position Phone Office Email

Davis Dimalen

Research Programmer

82732

303S-495

d.dimalen@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Tariq Khan

Research Programmer

82080

303S-495

t.khan@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Kai-Cheung Leung

Research Programmer

82017

303S-495

k.leung@auckland.ac.nz

Justin Marsh

Research Programmer

88815

303S-495

j.marsh@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Wannes van der Mark

Team Leader

89215

303S-495

w.vandermark@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Walter Xie

Research Programmer

87458

303S-461

walter@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Top

Honorary academics

Name Position Email  
Dr Rachel Blagojevic Honorary Academic rpat088@aucklanduni.ac.nz  
Professor Brian Carpenter Honorary Professor brian@cs.auckland.ac.nz  
Professor Jim Goodman Honorary Professor j.goodman@auckland.ac.nz  
Professor John Grundy Adjunct Professor of Software Engineering  jgrundy@swin.edu.au  
Professor Hans Guesgen Honorary Research Associate h.w.guesgen@massey.ac.nz  
Dr Peter Gutmann Honorary Researcher pgut001@cs.auckland.ac.nz  
Dr John Hamer Honorary Senior Lecturer j.hamer@cs.auckland.ac.nz  
Professor Pat Langley Honorary Professor p.langley@auckland.ac.nz  
Dr Ranjini Swaminathan Honorary Academic    
Top

PhD students

Name Phone Office Email Supervisor

Adekemi Adedokun

 

303S-576

Aad072@auckland.ac.nz

Russello

Danah Algawiaz   303-420 dalg029@aucklanduni.ac.nz Dobbie

Rehab Alkhater

84638 

 730-325

ralk141@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Langley

Robert Anderson   303S-596 rand079@aucklanduni.ac.nz Koh

Samin Aref

88260

303S-596

sare618@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Wilson

Adam Arvay

87595

303S-576

aarv914@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Langley

Aslihan Bayrak   303S-595 atec298@aucklanduni.ac.nz Wuensche

Dmitry Berdinsky

88260

303S-596

dber342@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Khoussainov

Jacob Bellamy-McIntyre

 

303S-567

jbel071@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Weber

Monica Bian

 

303S-476

rbia002@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Koh

Edwin Chan

 

303S-396

ycha171@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Delmas

Yi Chen

87595

303S-576

yche486@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Ye

Shijie Cui

 

303S-576

scui379@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Russello

YuFeng Deng

 

303S-596

yden034@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Mano

Paul Denny

 

303S-465

p.denny@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Tempero

Jordan Douglas   303S-461 jdou557@aucklanduni.ac.nz Drummond
Behzad Farokhi   303S-471 bfar713@aucklanduni.ac.nz Weber

Faezeh Frouzesh

82128

303S-476

ffor011@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Wilson

Aleksander Galicki

 

 

agal629@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Nies

Sasha Gavryushkina 

87458

303S-376

agav755@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Drummond

Trevor Gee

 

303S-396

tgee862@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Delmas

Haokun Geng

 

303S-375

hgen001@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Nicolescu

Rui Gong

82766

303S-396

rgon011@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Gimel'farb

Prashant Gupta

 

409-G21

p.gupta@auckland.ac.nz

Gahegan

Mark Heseltine

 

303S-476

markdheseltine@gmail.com

Amor

Albert Hu   303-476 fhu762@aucklanduni.ac.nz Warren
Nan Huang   303S-576 nhua630@aucklanduni.ac.nz Calude
Athar Imtiaz   303S-576 mimt087@aucklanduni.ac.nz Plimmer

Maziar Janbeglou

86196

303S-595

mjan635@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Brownlee

Jason James     jjam001@aucklanduni.ac.nz Delmas

Sam Kavangh

 

303S-567

skav012@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Luxton-Reilly

Jonathan Klawitter   303S-461 jkla325@aucklanduni.ac.nz Linz

Dongwei Liu

87248

303S-471

dliu697@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Nicolescu

Xiaojie Liu

 

303S-576

xliu785@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Speidel

David Maplesden

88260

303S-596 

dmap001@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Tempero

Teererai Marange   303S-476 tmar080@aucklanduni.ac.nz Barley

Marshima Mohd Rosli

82128

303S-476

mmoh603@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Tempero

Devipriyaa Nagappan   303S-476 dnag692@aucklanduni.ac.nz Warren
Alex Payne   303S-576 apay876@aucklanduni.ac.nz  

Edward Peek

87466

303S-595

epee004@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Wuensche

Alex Popinga

 

303S-376

apop146@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Willis

Diana Prado   303S-596 dben652@aucklanduni.ac.nz Riddle

Lei Qian

 

303S-595

lqia012@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Brownlee

Tania Roblot

87595

303S-576

trob048@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Link

Neda Sakhaee

87595

303S-576

nsak206@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Wilson

Ganesh Selvaraj

 

303S-471

gsel521@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Lutteroth

Jun Seo

 

303S-576

jseo028@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Manoharan

Asma Shakil   303S-471 asha946@aucklanduni.ac.nz Lutteroth

Lindsay Shaw

 

303S-595

lsha074@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Wuensche

Shyamli Sindhwani   303S-471 ssin820@aucklanduni.ac.nz Lutteroth

Shen Song

 

303S-476

sson800@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Warren, J

Thomas Suselo   303S-595 tsus609@aucklanduni.ac.nz Wuensche

Ralph Versteegen

87458

303S-569

rver017@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Dinneen

Ziheng Wei   303S-596 zwei891@aucklanduni.ac.nz Link
Ian Wong   303S-576 iwon015@aucklanduni.ac.nz Dobbie

Ly Yang

 

303S-595

lyan776@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Speidel

 

 

 

 

 

Top

MSc students

Name Email Supervisor

Xinglong Chang

 xcha011@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Gimel’farb

Kylie Chen

 kche309@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Koh

Hui Fang

 hfan116@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Lutteroth/Weber

Alexander Fowler

 afow601@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Calude

Paul Freeman

 pfre484@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Watson

Senyang He

 she833@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Link

Shaun Koh

 skoh023@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Brownlee

Arthur Lewis

 alew525@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Luxton

Eric Lim

 jlim062@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Dobbie

Bernard O’Leary

 bole001@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Delmas

Kreshnik Pireva

 kpir004@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Lutteroth

Rong Wang

 rwan074@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Dinneen

Ping Zhao

 pzha291@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 Ye

Top