The Centre for Discrete Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science (CDMTCS) The CDMTCS was founded on May 1995  as a joint venture between the University of Auckland and Waikato University, by the Co-Directors, Professor D. S. Bridges (then at the Waikato University) and Professor C.S. Calude, in order to From December 1997 the Centre is operated between the Departments of Computer Science and Mathematics of the University of Auckland under the directorship of Professor C.S. Calude and is based in the Department of Computer Science. Professors R.W. Doran (HOD of the department of Computer Science in the period 1980-1997), R. Cooney (Dean of Science), D. Gauld (Chair of the Research Committee in 1995)  and I. Collins (Research Committee representative) have been influencial in supporting the foundation and operation of the Centre.

The Centre has become a major force in fostering research and development in those areas within the South Pacific Region and in creating productive links between that region's researchers and their counterparts in the rest of the world. The Centre's activity is cited in the MORST Report Mathematics in New Zealand: Past, Present and Future, July 1998.

Although the Centre encourages and supports a wide range of research in computer science and mathematics, its primary research foci are the following:

The activities of the Centre are overseen by a management committee and an international advisory board (wich includes M.A. Arslanov (Kazan State University, Russia), R.C. Backhouse (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands), J. Casti (Santa Fe Institute, New Mexico, US, and Technische Universit\"{a}t, Vienna, Austria), G.J. Chaitin (IBM, New York, US), C.J. Colbourn (University of Vermont, US), E.W. Dijkstra (University of Texas, Austin, US), J.H. Dinitz (University of Vermont, US), J.A. Goguen (University of California at San Diego, US), R.L. Graham (University of California at San Diego, US), J. Hartmanis (Cornell University, US), H. Jurgensen (University of Western Ontario, Canada and Potsdam University, Germany), C.C. Lindner (Auburn University, Alabama,  US), R. Mathon (University of Toronto, Canada), B.D. Mackay (Australian National University, Australia), A. Nerode (Cornell University, US), I. Prigogine (Solvay Institute, Belgium), G. Rozenberg (Leiden University, Netherlands), A. Salomaa (University of Turku, Finland), J. Seberry (University of Wollongong, Australia), D van Dalen (University of Utrecht, Netherlands).

Members of the Centre are: P. Bonnington (Mathematics), C.S. Calude (Computer Science), M. D. E. Conder (Mathematics), M. J. Dinneen (Computer Science), R. W. Doran (Computer Science), P. Gibbons (Computer Science), H. Guesgen (Computer Science), P. R. Hafner (Mathematics), F. Kroon (Philosophy), B. Khoussainov (Computer Science), M. Morton (Mathematics), R. Nicolescu (Computer Science), E. O'Brien (Mathematics), B. Pavlov (Mathematics), I. Reilly (Mathematics), M. Titchener (Computer Science), C.Thomborson (Computer Science).

There are17 international external researchers associated with the Centre: I. Antoniou (Solvay Institute, Belgium), E. Calude (Massey University at
Albany, New Zealand), R. Downey (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand), B. Everitt (University of Aberdeen, Scotland), R. Goldblatt (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand), P. Hertling (FernUniversitat Hagen, Germany), D. Holton (University of Otago, New Zealand), K.-W. Lih (Institute of Mathematics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan), C. Little (Massey University, New Zealand), M. Lipponen (Turku University, Finland), J. McKay (Concordia University, Canada), Gh. P\u aun (Institute of Mathematics, Romanian Academy, Romania), C.E. Praeger (University of Western Australia), K. Svozil (Technische Universitat, Vienna), D. Stefanescu (Bucharest University, Romania). S. Yu (University of Western Ontario, Canada), I Tomescu (Bucharest University, Romania).These individuals assist with the Centre's operation by engaging in such work as refereeing papers and assisting with conference and workshop organisation.

Members of the Centre have been actively involved in teaching activities, mainly by

The Centre has hosted 72 international visitors and 7 international conferences, summer schools, workshops and seminars.  This year the Centre will co-organise with the Solvay Institutes the Second International Conference on Unconventional Models of Computation UMC2K,  to be held in Brussels, Belgium, on 13--16 December, 2000 and the Workshop on Multiset Processing (Mathematical, Computer Science, Molecular Computing approaches) WMP2000  (with the Romanian Academy, the Politechnical University of Madrid ) to be held in Curtea de Arges, Romania, on 21-25 August, 2000.

Affiliations have been developed with the Logic Group at JAIST, Mindship International, and the Turku Centre for Computer Science (TUCS).

The Centre publishes a Research Reports Series  (edited by M.J. Dinneen) in which more than 120 papers have appeared.

The Centre publishes the Springer-Verlag, London, book Series Discrete Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science (editors: D.S. Bridges, C.S. Calude) and, in co-operation with Graz Technical University and Turku University, Springer-Verlag Journal of Universal Computer Science (editors-in-chief, C.S. Calude, H. Maurer, A. Salomaa).

The Centre's motto "Nothing is more practical than a good theory" cannot be better illustrated than by mentioning that some of our graduate students have got jobs in which they apply theory to applied computer science:  Shane Legg at Intelligenesis, P. Leung at Interworld, Liu Xiong at Microsoft.